Homepage » KB article » Sophos Firewall » Sophos Firewall OS (SFOS) Base License

Sophos Firewall OS (SFOS) Base License

In this article, we would like to take a closer look at the Sophos Firewall OS (SFOS) "Base License". We will show where this base license is included everywhere, what features can be found in it and how long it is valid.

Where is the SFOS basic license included?

Hardware Appliance

Anyone who buys an XG hardware appliance gets the Base License free of charge. So if you only buy the hardware, without paid licenses such as "Network Protection" or "Web Protection", you can at least use the free functions of the basic license.

Info: If you still have a SG hardware appliance and install the new SFOS on it, you will also get the Base License free of charge. The following article explains how to install the new SFOS on your SG Appliance with the UTM operating system: Installing Sophos XG Firewall OS on an SG Appliance

Virtual appliance

With a virtual appliance, the Base License unfortunately not free of charge and must be purchased once. After that you get a license file with a serial number for the VM.

Info: Unlike the hardware appliance, the virtual appliances do not have a hardware serial number. For this reason, it must be acquired and defined.

Important: The serial number can be specified only once during installation.

Which functions are included in the basic license?

  • Network firewall - Create normal firewall rules
  • VPN - SSL VPN
  • IPsec VPN connections
  • Wireless Protection

Info: VPN and IPsec would have required a "Network Protection License" for the UTM operating system. Wireless Protection" was also a paid module with the UTM. These functions are all included in the SFOS basic license.

How long is the basic license valid?

In principle, the base license can be used indefinitely, regardless of whether you own a hardware appliance or have purchased the base license for the virtual appliance once. The expiration date of the base license is specified by Sophos for the year 2999. I think you can speak of a "lifetime license" in this case without exception. 😂

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top

Sophos Firewall OS (SFOS) Base License

In diesem Artikel möchten wir uns die “Base License” des Sophos Firewall OS (SFOS) etwas genauer ansehen. Wir zeigen auf, wo diese Basislizenz überall enthalten ist, welche Funktionen darin zu finden sind und wie lange sie gültig ist.

Wo ist die SFOS Basislizenz enthalten?

Hardware Appliance

Wer sich eine XG Hardware Appliance kauft, bekommt die Base License kostenlos dazu. Wer sich also nur die Hardware, ohne kostenpflichtige Lizenzen, wie z. B. die “Network Protection” oder “Web Protection” kauft, kann zumindest die kostenlosen Funktionen der Basislizenz nutzen.

Info: Wenn ihr noch eine SG Hardware Appliance habt und auf dieser das neue SFOS installiert, bekommt ihr ebenfalls die Base License kostenlos dazu. Hier findest du unsere Anleitung, wie du deine SG Appliance mit dem UTM-Betriebssystem, in eine XG Appliance mit dem SFOS verwandelst.

Virtual Appliance

Bei einer Virtual Appliance ist die Base License leider nicht kostenlos dabei und muss einmalig erworben werden. Danach erhält man ein Lizenzfile mit einer Seriennummer für die VM.

Info: Anders als bei der Hardware Appliance haben die Virtual Appliances keine Hardwareseriennummer. Aus diesem Grund muss diese erworben und definiert werden.

Wichtig: Die Seriennummer kann nur einmal bei der Installation angegeben werden.

Welche Funktionen sind in der Basislizenz inbegriffen?

  • Netzwerk-Firewall - Normale Firewall-Regeln erstellen
  • VPN - SSL VPN
  • IPsec VPN Verbindungen
  • Wireless Protection

Info: Für VPN und IPsec hätte man beim UTM-Betriebssystem eine “Network Protection Lizenz” benötigt. Auch die “Wireless Protection” war bei der UTM ein kostenpflichtiges Modul. Bei der Basislizenz des SFOS sind diese Funktionen alle inbegriffen.

Wie lange ist die Basislizenz gültig?

Grundsätzlich ist die Basislizenz unbefristet nutzbar, egal ob man nun eine Hardware Appliance besitzt oder die Basislizenz, für die Virtual Appliance einmalig erworben hat. Das Ablaufdatum der Basislizenz wird von Sophos für das Jahr 2999 angegeben. Ich denke, man kann in diesem Fall ausnahmslos von einer “Lifetime Lizenz” sprechen. 😂